The Six Perfections are: generosity, virtue, patience, diligence, concentration, and wisdom.

They’re all equally important, but patience is the most important one haha. At least half of our formal practice is about learning to be patient. Impatience is craving, and craving is suffering. Patience is an antidote to craving, so it’s an antidote to suffering.

Patience is closely related to tolerance and endurance. If I could, I’d make, “Waiting for the bus,” the official practice method in Zen. We sit down and wait, and wait, and wait, and wait. For what? For nothing. Waiting until we no longer feel like we’re waiting. Waiting until whatever it was we thought we were waiting for is totally absent from our minds.

While waiting, we tolerate all the unpleasantness that comes along with that. We endure it. And then, before we know it, it’s gone. Without a trace.

What we’re waiting for is already present. We don’t need the bus because we’re already at our destination.

I wholeheartedly believe that you could Wake Up just by sitting there diligently waiting, doing nothing, not even concentrating. But that might take awhile. So we have the other Four Perfections there to lend a hand.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s